Belgian Darts Championship – Day One Round-Up

which darts players do slots rtp sponsor at the PDC World Professional Darts championship


Brothers Kim and Ronny Huybrechts enjoyed home wins as the 2020 European Tour season got underway on Friday with the first round of the Belgian Darts Championship.

The £140,000 tournament at Expo Hasselt opened with wins for four Belgian hopefuls, as the Huybrechts brothers were joined in the last 32 by Dimitri Van den Bergh and Mike De Decker.

Former World Cup finalist Kim Huybrechts enjoyed a 6-2 win over Ryan Harrington to begin his bid for a third European Tour title.

The Antwerp thrower led 3-0 before Harrington hit back to 3-2, but he crucially missed four darts to level in leg six as Huybrechts capitalised on the let-off to close out victory, setting up a second round tie with Jeffrey de Zwaan.

Elder brother Ronny was in clinical form as he landed six doubles from nine attempts in a big 6-1 win over World Youth Champion Luke Humphries, and he now plays Michael Smith.

Two-time World Youth Champion Van den Bergh picked up a 6-3 win over Derk Telnekes, creating a second round meeting with 2019 Czech Darts Open champion Jamie Hughes.

Youngster De Decker, meanwhile, was a narrow 6-5 winner over Dutchman Ron Meulenkamp, setting up a tasty tie with world number one Michael van Gerwen on Saturday.

There was disappointment, though for Geert De Vos as the qualifier went down 6-2 to Danny Noppert, while Steve West whitewashed newcomer Jeffrey van Edgom 6-0.

2019 Brisbane Darts Masters champion Damon Heta enjoyed a superb European Tour debut with a 6-0 whitewash of Michael Barnard, averaging an impressive 102.48 in the win.

Dirk van Duijvenbode also posted a ton-plus average, seeing off Luke Woodhouse 6-4 with six doubles from ten attempts and a 101.59 average in moving through to meet number two seed Ian White.

Germany’s Gabriel Clemens now plays Krzysztof Ratajski – the winner of last year’s final European Tour event in Gibraltar – in round two after defeating Callan Rydz 6-3.

Steve Lennon defied finishes of 151 an 124 from Rowby-John Rodriguez as he came from 3-2 down to win 6-3 and progress to a second round tie with James Wade.

Mervyn King was a 6-4 winner over Justin Pipe in a clash of former European Tour event winners, securing a meeting with Glen Durrant on Saturday.

Dutch debutant Martijn Kleermaker survived a fightback from 5-1 down by Stephen Bunting before claiming a 6-4 win in his first European Tour appearance, and he now plays Joe Cullen in round two.

Wesley Plaisier was another Dutchman to progress, edging out Slovenia’s Benjamin Pratnemer 6-5 in a tight contest to earn a meeting with world number three Gerwyn Price.

Recent Players Championship winner and heavy metal darts Ryan Searle was too strong for debutant Darren Penhall with a 6-3 success, setting up a second round tie with Mensur Suljovic.

Steve Beaton now plays Nathan Aspinall in round two after seeing off Hong Kong’s Kai Fan Leung 6-4, while Andy Hamilton made a winning return to the European Tour stage with a 6-5 defeat of Andy Boulton, moving himself through to a meeting with World Champion Peter Wright.

Saturday’s second round will be followed on Sunday by the final day of action as the £140,000 tournament culminates. For tickets, visit or purchase at Expo Hasselt.

Coverage of the Belgian Darts Championship is available for all PDCTV Subscribers worldwide, as well as through a series of bookmakers’ websites.

2020 Belgian Darts Championship

Friday February 28

First Round

Afternoon Session

Ryan Searle 6-3 Darren Penhall

Andy Hamilton 6-5 Andy Boulton

Steve Beaton 6-4 Kai Fan Leung

Ronny Huybrechts 6-1 Luke Humphries

Damon Heta 6-0 Michael Barnard

Wesley Plaisier 6-5 Benjamin Pratnemer

Martijn Kleermaker 6-4 Stephen Bunting

Mervyn King 6-4 Justin Pipe

Evening Session

Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-4 Luke Woodhouse

Mike De Decker 6-4 Ron Meulenkamp

Gabriel Clemens 6-3 Callan Rydz

Danny Noppert 6-2 Geert De Vos

Kim Huybrechts 6-2 Ryan Harrington

Steve Lennon 6-3 Rowby-John Rodriguez

Steve West 6-0 Jeffrey van Egdom

Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-3 Derk Telnekes

Saturday February 29

Second Round

Afternoon Session (1300 local time, 1200 GMT)

Michael Smith v Ronny Huybrechts

Joe Cullen v Martijn Kleermaker

Krzysztof Ratajski v Gabriel Clemens

Glen Durrant v Mervyn King

Rob Cross v Damon Heta

Ian White v Dirk van Duijvenbode

Jermaine Wattimena v Danny Noppert

James Wade v Steve Lennon

Evening Session (1900 local time, 1800 GMT)

Nathan Aspinall v Steve Beaton

Gerwyn Price v Wesley Plaisier

Peter Wright v Andy Hamilton

Michael van Gerwen v Mike De Decker

Jeffrey de Zwaan v Kim Huybrechts

Jamie Hughes v Dimitri Van den Bergh

Mensur Suljovic v Ryan Searle

Jonny Clayton v Steve West


Relevant news